To SNSM, Sikh Sangat and Sikh Naujawans Malaysia

Of recent times many Anti-Gurmat and Anti-Sikhi elements distorting and misleading Gurmat related activities have been observed.  These are carried out by Malaysian elements and their foreign associates who, knowingly or unknowingly, support the Kala Afghana/Ragi Darshan skewed interpretation of Gurbani, Gurmat and Sikhi including Sikh History.

SNSM has been known to be supporting these Anti-Sikhi Anti-Gurmat elements.  With the recent change it is hoped that SNSM move to the mainstream view which Globally does not support the Kala Afghana / Ragi Darshan ideology.  Note that both these people, Kala Afghana and Ragi Darshan, have been excommunicated from the Sikh Panth.

SNSM is a Gurmat related body with Patron Saint Sant Sohan Singh Ji.  I am sure that Sant Ji will not support such distortion and misleading of Gurbani, Sikhi, Sikh tenets and practices.  

It is impertinent that SNSM take a stand that it does not support such Anti-Sikhi Anti-Gurmat elements and their activities.   The following list is put forward for SNSM as the SNSM way forward, to show that it is true to its Patron Saint Sant Sohan Singh Ji, to the Sangat and to the Naujawans of Malaysia.

List of mainstream Sikhi accepted practices and tenets

  1. ACCEPTANCE OF THE 4 CANONS and that these are Gurbani is our ALLEGIANCE to our Gurus teachings. (pointed to in SRM)
  2. Morning nitnem comprises 5 Banees: Japji Sahib, Jaap Sahib, 10 Sawayya, Benti Chaupai and Anand Sahib.  (as per SRM with Matta 41)
  3. Amrit vela starts three hours before dawn.  (as per SRM)
  4. DASAM GRANTH is GURBANI and is not rejected in the SRM.  It is the SECOND Canon of the Sikhs.  (pointed to in SRM)
  5. The SGPC English Translation of the SRM is AUTHENTIC.  (prepared under SGPC)
  6. Any Takhat can issue a Hukumnama. (as per Mahan Kosh)
  7. The Takhats, NOT the SGPC, are the highest Sikh Authority. (as per SRM)
  8. Our long standing Historical records and Sakhian should not be distorted and misinterpreted based on the logic/reason/critical thinking basis.

Discussion of each of the above is presented below.

A.  The Ek Granth concept propagated to the Sangat AND 4 Canons AND Living Guru edicted by Guru Gobind Singh Ji

There are elements who are propagating the “Ek Granth” concept to the Sangat.  Of late this concept has been remodeled as “Centrality/Supremacy of One”.  This basically states that there is only ONE GRANTH in Sikhi and that is Guru Granth Sahib (SGGS).  No other ‘book’ is a Granth for Sikhs and should not be on par with SGGS.

Four Canons (Dharmic Granths)

This concept of Ek Granth is against the Sikh Tenets.  There are 4 canons (Dharmic Granths) in Sikhi.

  1. Sri GURU Granth Sahib
  2. Dasam Granth Sahib
  3. Composition of Bhai Gurdas
  4. Composition of Bhai Nand Lal

SGGS and Dasam Granth were compiled by our Gurus. 

Composition of Bhai Gurdas were canonised by Guru Arjan Dev Ji stating them to be the “key to Guru Granth Sahib” and Guru Gobind Singh Ji canonised the compositions by Bhai Nand Lal. 

All these are Gurbani in the sense that they are compositions by our Gurus or nominated by our Gurus and are sung and discoursed in all Gurdwaras including our historical Gurdwaras.

Living Guru

It is important to appreciate that no matter what, position wise or place wise, etc, none of the other Granths (2 to 4) can be on PAR with the SGGS BASICALLY on the basis of the fact that SGGS is our LIVING GURU.  

If we have one placed in the same place with the identical Ramalay and Chaur, Guru Granth is our Living Guru the other is not.  How can the other be on PAR?  The other may be a Granth of Spiritual knowledge but SGGS is a Granth of Spiritual knowledge as well as LIVING GURU.

However, if one takes SGGS as a book of knowledge then there is a problem because both then become a book of knowledge, hence the Ek Granth issue.

So clearly those propagating the “Ek Granth” or “Centrality/Supremacy of One” DO NOT BELIVE THAT SGGS IS A LIVING GURU and reject what Guru Arjan Dev Ji and Guru Gobind Singh Ji said.  

Further this is against the edict of Guru Gobind Singh Ji who proclaimed the Adi Granth will be the Sikh LIVING GURU (ਜਾਗਦੀ ਜੋਤਿ ਪ੍ਰਤੱਖ ਗੁਰੂ)


ACCEPTANCE OF THE 4 CANONS and that these are Gurbani is our ALLEGIANCE to our Gurus teachings.

B. Nitnem Banees

There are elements who are saying that there are only 5 Nitnem Banees; Jap, Jaap, Ten Sawayyas in the morning, Sodar Rehras in the evening and Sohila before sleeping.

It is brought to the attention of these elements that Matta 41 dated 28-APR-1985 from Akaal Takhat stipulates the following Banees as a revision to the SRM.

Morning (Amrit Vela) – Jap, Jaap, 10 Sawayya, Benti Chaupai, Anand.


Morning nitnem comprises 5 Banees: Japji Sahib, Jaap Sahib, 10 Sawayya, Benti Chaupai and Anand Sahib.  

C. When is Amrit Vela

These elements say that Amrit Vela is anytime of the day as suitable.

SRM Clause Chapter III, Article IV 1 (English Version) states that “A Sikh should wake up in the ambrosial hours (three hours before the dawn), ….”.  See extract from the SRM in the figure.

This clearly defines what Amrit vela is i.e. starts three hours before dawn. 


Amrit vela starts three hours before dawn.

Figure: Amrit Vela (extract from SRM Punjabi and English)

180716 SRMM Amrit Vela.jpg